What Education Is Needed to Become a Radiologist?

A radiologist is a medical doctor who specializes in diagnosing and treating diseases and injuries using medical imaging techniques, such as X-rays, computed tomography (CT) scans, and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans.

Checkout this video:


Education requirements for radiologists vary depending on the state in which they work. Most states require radiologists to complete an accredited four-year residency program in diagnostic radiology, which includes clinical rotations. After completing the residency program, radiologists must pass the state licensing exam.

4-year degree

A radiology technician must have at least a four-year degree from an accredited college or university, although some employers may prefer or require technicians to have a master’s degree. Many radiology programs are accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. To be eligible for admission to most programs, students must have completed coursework in physics and biology, and some programs require chemistry as well.

Medical school

To become a radiologist, you will first need to obtain a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university. After completing your undergraduate studies, you will then need to complete four years of medical school. During medical school, you will take courses in anatomy, physiology, medical ethics and various other subjects. You will also complete clinical rotations in order to gain hands-on experience in the field. After completing medical school, you will then need to obtain a medical license in order to practice medicine.


After completing a four-year undergraduate degree and a four-year medical degree, would-be radiologists must complete a one- to four-year residency in diagnostic radiology. During this time, residents work under the supervision of experienced radiologists and learn to interpret imaging studies and perform interventional procedures. At the end of the residency, radiologists must pass exams administered by the American Board of Radiology before they can be certified.


There are three steps to become certified in radiology in the United States. First, you must complete an accredited radiology residency program. After completing a residency program, you must pass two exams administered by the American Board of Radiology (ABR).

American Board of Radiology

The American Board of Radiology (ABR) is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(6), physician-led organization focused on ensuring the highest standards in radiological care. Founded in 1934, we are one of 24 specialty boards that make up the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).

The ABR provides certification for medical doctors (MDs) and doctor of osteopathic medicine (DOs) who want to specialize in diagnostic radiology, interventional radiology, or radiation oncology. We also offer a combined certification program for those who want to practice both diagnostic and interventional radiology. In addition to initial certification, we offer a portfolio of continuous certification options designed to encourage lifelong learning and assess continued competence.

We are proud to be recognized as a world leader in assessing physician skills and knowledge. Our examinations are developed by medical experts from leading academic institutions across the United States and are uniformly recognized as the gold standard in physician assessment.

Maintenance of Certification

Maintenance of certification (MOC) in the United States is a continuing medical education and professional development process required by each of the 24 medical specialty boards for physicians who wish to maintain their board certification. physicians must complete MOC every 10 years.

Skills Needed

Radiologists need excellent communication skills. They must be able to explain procedures and findings to patients and other medical personnel. Many radiology procedures require the use of computers, so radiologists must be proficient in using them. In addition, radiology technologists must be able to operate complex equipment.


Radiology is both an art and a science. It is essential that radiologists be able to communicate effectively with patients, families, other physicians and the radiology staff. They must be able to explain procedures, discuss test results and listen to patients’ concerns.


First and foremost, radiologists must be compassionate. Radiologists are looking at images of patients’ bodies and diagnosing serious health conditions. It is vital that radiologists be able to empathize with their patients and understand the gravity of the situation. In some cases, radiologists may be the first to spot a problem, so it is important that they have the bedside manner to deliver bad news in a way that is respectful and supportive.

Critical thinking

A radiologist is a specialist who uses imaging tests such as X-rays, MRIs and CT scans to diagnose and treat disease. As a radiologist, you will need to be able to interpret these images and use them to make a diagnosis. This requires critical thinking skills and the ability to pay attention to detail. You will also need to be able to communicate your findings effectively to other members of the healthcare team.

Detail oriented

Radiologists must be able to pay attention to detail in order to accurately interpret images. They often look at images for long periods of time, so they must be able to maintain focus.

Scroll to Top